Rejections and The. Book.

1 recent rejection. It was a really good one and it’s a criticism I’ve gotten a few times before. I totally get it and it was really helpful.

I’ve learned from my rejections from the past year or so that my odd narrative voices that I’m really into, other people like as well. I do need to work on making them a bit less mysterious. I’m working on it.

Okay now The. Book.

I’ve read a lot about the pros and cons of self publishing and I’ve had to take a time out and evaluate what exactly it is that I am about.

The Book isn’t really about me getting famous. It’s mostly about me giving my small core of blog fans what a lot of them have asked for. And yes, I’d like to make a few pennies out of the deal but mostly I want to give them what they want.

I also want to make some of the things I know I am good at talking about, available to people to carry around. I want to be in their purse or pocket to help when needed.

Overall I feel really good about the project. I have an amazing editor lined up. I trust this woman so much with my words.

And I realized that if I want to make sure I pay her fairly for her wonderful services I have to ask for help. I’ve got a chip in thing on my regular blog and have gotten two donations. I am so floored. someone also tried to win me 100$ from another blog and what they said about the things I’ve written humbled me and made me want to cry.

I am awed and amazingly thankful that there are people who have made it possible for me to really fulfill one of the dreams/things I’ve felt down deep I need to do.

I’ve got two essays done. I’m hoping to have 10-15 or so. I want to price the book fairly lowish and make sure I pursue all avenues of distribution I can so I can keep it super accessible.

That’s all for now. Here are my current stats not counting any non fiction.

Pending responses for last 12 months: 6
Submissions sent last 12 months: 29
Submissions sent this month: 7
Acceptance ratio for the past 12 months: 34.78 %
Congratulations! Your overall acceptance ratio is higher than the average for users who have submitted to the same markets.

No acceptances since January but, lots of really excellent feedback and some invitations to resubmit. Time to work.

Leave a Reply

