The Grind. Rejections and whatnot.

After a little spate of three super quick and one really helpful rejection that I’m calling a success (yes, I’m totally copying Roxane Gay deal with it)  I hadn’t heard much of anything for a couple of weeks.

I got a new rejection today that I’m tentatively calling a win because the editor specifically mentioned a few encouraging things.

Did I mention that I withdrew two pieces last week? For one publication there was a weird maybe a month and a half ago then a promise to hear from them then nothing. The other I’m guessing is a dead market because the editors didn’t respond to any of my two queries nor did they respond to my withdrawl. Whatever.

What else is going on?

I’m going to spend the next week or so doing another good sized round of submisssions. Perhaps I can grind my acceptance rate down another few digits.

Randomly I was on the bus earlier today and a woman was breast feeding her toddler, another woman got on the bus with a slightly older than a toddler who turned to her Mom and said, “Boobie is good”. She was so serious I wanted to nod and give her a fist bump because indeed boobies are good.

I have a bee in my bonnet about internets writers and shitty writing that people get paid for but I really don’t want to be an asshole about it. I feel like this is one of those universe telling me to not be a cunt moments.  Sometimes I know I can be mean and the want to write one of those long rants filled with proverbial and literal middle fingers is strong. So strong I started writing it on my phone but I made myself stop that.

I don’t have to read shitty writing. I don’t have to take it personally. I don’t have to feel jealous or cheated that those people get paid for it. I don’t.

Dear Self,

Stop being such an asshole.

Okay I think that’s all. I can feel the navel gazing coming on and I’m not in the mood.

OH wait one more thing. More than two people bought my collection so far and it feels really kind of crazy. Some people have even given me very interesting feedback which after I get permission I’ll share.

 

Leave a Reply

