So I’m not the only one.

First I need you to go read this entry by wonderful author Nnedi Okorafor.

If you’ve read me for a minute you know that lately I have double consciousness on my mind constantly.

If you don’t want to read her whole entry I want to show you this quote:

This is something people of color, women, minorities must deal with more than most when striving to be the greatest that they can be in the arts: The fact that many of The Elders we honor and need to learn from hate or hated us.

This is something that weighs so heavily on my mind a lot of the time.

Especially when it comes to Lovecraft. I have a deep and abiding love for the mythos he created. I am inspired by it and it moves me. And yet, there is always that pain there because I know precisely what a racist douchebag he was.

It’s hard.

I hate needing this or even confessing to it but when I see authors of color who are way more famous than me talking about the same kind of hurt it eases a little bit.

Also before I leave talking about my admiration for Nnedi I became familiar with her through this article at Strange Horizons about Stephen King’s Magical Negroes. Seriously she nailed a lot of things in that.

Ah shit, I had something by Roxane Gay too but I seem to have lost the link.

Damn.

Any way, despite the hate I have that any of us has to deal with these things it does make me feel a bit less like a baby writer I guess, to know that other people who are doing Grown Up Serious Writer Things think about them and feel them too.

Thinky things aside, my rejection streak has been put to a slight halt. I got an acceptance to Milk Sugar’s April issue which I believe is Spring/Summer.

They snatched up that Fat girl story I was afraid no one would ever love but me. It’s a fat girl story that isn’t the usual WOE IS ME I’M FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT trope.

No fat asshole tropes for me folks.

What else?

I’m listening to the audiobook of Corey Taylor’s (yes the Corey Taylor from slipknot) book and the writing is kind of not entirely to my taste however he is reading it and his voice gives me a boner.

I know this got fluffy. I am apparently not in the mood to dig into my feelings today.

Another day.

Leave a Reply

