Author Spotlight- Sumayyah Talibah

Through tumblr I have had the distinct pleasure of getting to know Sumayyah and her work. First before we get to the interview I need you to watch one of her videos. I love that she performs her poetry this way. This piece is one of my favorites.

 

Now we also must talk about the fact that Sumayyah is also an indie author and I really suggest everyone go check out her books at Smashwords and buy them.

Onto the interview.

First tell my friends as much as you’d like to about yourself and your work.

Once upon a time, when dinosaurs roamed the earth.. no, really. Lol. Okay, I’m 32, a wife, mother, bibliophile and bookworm. I lean toward the dark side in all my punkemogoth glory. I write fiction, usually of the fantasy and sci fi type. I also write poetry. I’m looking forward to writing more about the “ordinary” unconventional lives of women of colorAnd that’s about it.. I guess..


How do you like to work? Do you need your workspace to be any particular way?

Depends on what I’m writing. When I write fiction, I’m usually camped in front of my pc, incense burning, a mug of green tea next to me, and headphones on my ears blasting musicI still write most of my poems the old fashioned way, in a notebook, while I’m curled up in bed or on the couch.


Who are your favorite artists or authors?

Might be easier to tell explain who I DON’T like. Um, authors I adore: L.A. Banks, Octavia Butler, Nnedi Okorafor, N. K. Jemisin, Stephen King, Edgar Allan Poe, Miyamoto Kano, erm.. just too many, really. Artists? Not really into visual art, but if we’re talking music, that’s another really long list. Let’s just say that I’m a Marilyn Manson fan and leave it at that.


Do you have any memories of the first piece of art or literature that really moved you?

I started reading when I was about 3 or 4 so, no, not really.


What makes you ridiculously happy?

I’m assuming “money” is a completely inappropriate answer, so I’m gonna go with good tea, good books, good music, and watching my children sleep. 

Do you still feel awe? If so what fills you full of it? If not, tell me.
I feel awe all the time. In thunderstorms, on nights of the full moon, every time my husband tells me he loves me, every time my kids call me “Mommy”. There are so many amazing things in this world.

Free for all: Tell me something good. (Yes I did just quote Chaka Khan at you)

I’m considering self-publishing my first novel, and I’m drinking green tea with a splash of lemon. It’s yummy!

~

You can also find more about Sumayyah’s work at her website located here. Thank you Sumayyah for doing the interview. You are a delight and a beautiful human being.

One thought on “Author Spotlight- Sumayyah Talibah

  1. Pingback: I’m Internet Famous.. Sort Of | Sumayyah Said So

Leave a Reply

