More Indie Adventures

With the cheerleading of my bestie I have published one of my essays at Smashwords.

cover

 

From my smashwords blurb:

A short essay on telling Whiteness no from the perspective of a pained Black woman. Specifically about how White people talk about young people of color in the news, Trayvon Martin, Rachel Jeantal and Kiera Wilmot. Warning there is racialized language in this piece.

I wrote this a couple of weeks ago in response to a lot of media, other essays and posts on social media by upset White people.

I will probably publish more of this sort of piece myself.  Readers so far have responded. I wasn’t sure about doing it this way because admittedly my luck having other people publish stuff like this had been limited. That aside, I do like what I’m doing so why not?

I have the means. I’ll do it for myself.

I feel like in the wake of the Zimmerman verdict this message is necessary.

That’s all for right now. Feel free to share the link as you please.

One thought on “More Indie Adventures

  1. Reblogged this on Tapati S. McDaniels and commented:
    I read my friend Shannon’s essay a couple of days before I heard the not-guilty the verdict on George Zimmerman. It was timely and I thought about it a lot as I read the anguished responses in my twitter TL. I’ve thought a lot about issues of race since I watched my family implode from their racism when I was ten. (My aunt married a black man and suddenly I found out that most of my extended family was racist.) While I have tried to educate racist people all my life and I have been angered and saddened, in turn, by watching my friends deal with it directly, I will never know what it is like to live with it directed at me personally. That’s just a fact. I can be sympathetic, I can express solidarity, I can try to apply what I’ve learned from being subjected to classism, homophobia and fat phobia in an effort to empathize, but I can’t KNOW. Since we can’t know, we should try for some humility and LISTEN.

Leave a Reply

