I Wrote a Thing and it was Hard.

Remember the super important thing that made me vomit and freak out and whatnot?

It is live. Head over here to see my piece in Literary Orphans via Anna March’s new column Anna’s Foundlings.

Honestly I am still feeling uncomfortable that people are going to read it. I don’t mind looking like a total asshole in my non fiction work. I don’t mind if people think I’m a total bastard.

What does completely undo me is feeling emotionally naked. Writing about Blackness in such a personal way leaves me feeling like I want to shart, vomit and fall down.

So basically I was doing it real right.

This part sums it up:

This is not what I wanted you to know.  This is not what I wanted to write. I wanted to write about how much I love the Dune saga, I wanted to tell you how hard I squee about Star Trek. I wanted to be beautiful and eloquent.

I feel like I failed at beauty and eloquence the same way I do in day to day life. Sometimes all I have is emotional blabber that pours out of me and then I have feelings and I don’t know what to do with myself so I get angry.

As hard as that piece was to write and show to anyone, I am going to do this again. As a friend said, I’m a masochist.

So how about some other stuff to read?

Via the darling and wonderful Frances Varian I found out the also talented and wonderful Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha is doing some awesome things in workshops. Go check that out on her website here.

The talented Eugie Foster (I talked about her here) has cancer and needs help. Get details here. Go to her blog here, buy her books. Tell people the things.

If you are a lover of SF/F type stuff and love podcasts go here and listen.  The Pod needs help.

Zander Vyne has a new book out at Burning Book Press. Fine ass erotica. I’m familiar with Zander’s work and really dig it. Pick it up/read about it here.

 

Speaking of fine Erotica go read this at Remittance Girl’s blog. Just do it.

Also by Remittance Girl over at the ERWA blog she posted an interesting thing about POV. Go read it.

So that’s all for right now.  The dayjob is making me feel vaguely suicidal and I have work to do.

Hopefully soon I’ll make it through my epic to read list and do some new reviews. As always if you have stuff to read or you think I’d be into drop me a link in the comments.

 

2 thoughts on “I Wrote a Thing and it was Hard.

Leave a Reply

