I find Jerry Stahl Comforting and other shit that is wrong with me.

I mentioned before that I have been comfort reading.

For me that means I read authors who don’t dissapoint me, I read books I’ve already read. I read stuff that I’ve not read before but is delightful.

I don’t have money for all the new books I want to read right now so I got the audiobook of Happy Mutant Baby Pills by Jerry Stahl.

And god damn it a few things.

First of all having Jerry Stahl’s work read to you is explicitly more dirty than reading them in print.

Selby reference, shitty jokes and the narrator who knows how much of a douchebag he is but you kind of like him anyway, okay he got me again.

Many of the people in this book are people I have been around, people I”ve loved and it makes me feel comfortable. I like laughing at shit that people who have never been ass deep in a certain type of drug culture will probably not get.

I honestly don’t know if I want to hug him, pinch him, push him or kick him in his ass. This is a sign of true love in my life. If I call you an asshole then hug you and want to give you a piece of pie, well I love you forever.

Don’t ask I don’t know.

Back to the book. It is really not for the faint of heart. Like if you have any sort of sensitive feelings about motherhood, sex or intimacy this is probably not for you. I however have issues and I loved it. I sat on the bus crocheting and giggling.

Just wow.

What else have I done?

I’ve watched the talk between Junot Diaz and Toni Morrison for real about four times. I think Junot Diaz is also one of those people I just get. His reaction at the start of the talk is what would go through my mind. When I heard about the talk I spread the word in flaily all caps and  I had to watch it alone so I could pause it and freak out from time to time.

Honestly that shit gave me fucking life y’all I can’t even lie. I think if I ever met or saw Toni Morrison I would probably either burst into tears and run away, or stand there like a moron and burst into tears.

It has happened.

I also spent some time reading and listening, wait seriously finding people reading poems that I love on youtube is one of my joys in life, to poetry. I’ve been watching nature documentaries and DS9.

Now it is dayjob time. I’m going to put a documentary of some sort on in the background or maybe an old horror movie. Do my work and hope to get some writing done.

After giftmas I’ll finish and put up my overlong and nerdy review of Dr. Sleep. And do my annual end of year holy shit look what I did entry.

Leave a Reply

