Books and things.

I’m almost done with the Borderlands Anthology.

I’ll review it when I’m done. Essentially (thank you for clarifying for me Nalo  H.) I was mistaken about the stories being more interactive with each other. So that disappointment is kind of whatever. The rest. Well yeah. It’s been a struggle.

It is the same struggle I have with 90% of the genre reading I do and yeah I’m gonna talk about it more.

What else?

Um there’s more bullshit happening regarding Alt lit and it’s pretty fucking awful and I think I’m just yeah. First read this. TW for sexual harassment and assault.

Link 1.

Then read this response (note how the comments are closed) on HTMLGIANT.

This comes after they posted (now deleted) yet another fuck list type thing. This is the cached version.

Previously there’s been a lot of discussion about sexism in both Alt Lit and at HTMLGIANT and frankly, who the fuck is driving the bus here?

As i keep seeing more lit micocosms exploding because men can’t behave like civilized human beings when they are criticized (I am referring to horror stories I’ve been hearing from female writers who have had the audacity to post less than glowing reviews or not fuck indie darling boys) or in the name of art, or because OMG FREE SPEECH, it exhausts me.

As for HTMLGIANT in particular there have been times when as a sort of community member (as in I used to comment fairly often) I felt unwelcome because female, Black, opinions. I got over that sort of but as this shit keeps happening I’m just exhausted and sad. I love so many of the book reviews. I’ve been introduced to some stellar work but it’s not worth the uh, well shit i feel like I wait every time I visit to see some bullshit so that’s another lit site that I have run out of can with.

I know it was discussed that changes would be made or something but yeah.

My personal literary world citizenship is important to me and as I’ve gotten older I really enjoy meeting and interacting with other writers who write stuff I don’t or that I wouldn’t be aware of if it wasn’t for spaces like HTMLGIANT but, the constancy of the emotional danger is not okay for me.

I think it’s the time of year to clean out my lit links folder and find some new shit to read.

What else?

Two Jenny’s I know have two awesome pieces up. First Jenny Haye’s piece here. Fuck go read it. Just…just read it. Then go read this tiny beautiful piece by Jenny Forrester. 

I’m still doing the Ink Node like a real poet. I’ve started posting the first in a series I’m calling Thots. Find them here.

I picked up a copy of Burnt Tongues and as expected it is pretty dude heavy. I couldn’t resist though.

Speaking of Nalo Hopkinson (ALSO  NH I am sorry i am probably doing something weird to your google alerts of you get them, I’m creepy sorry) I finally dug into Midnight Robber. I read the first ten pages twice because the writing is just so pretty and makes me rally happy.

I think that’s all for right now. I’m still feeilng some type of way about my decision regarding freelancing. It’s a weird combo of guilt, inadequacy and failure.

Processing is a mother fucker y’all.

Okay now I have work to do and hopefully I will get my shit together to do a big ole link round up of awesome stuff I want to show you. I’ve just had not enough focus to get it done.

Leave a Reply

