Color me Amused

So a bit back KT Bradford had the nerve to suggest people try reading folks other than CIS white dudes for a year.

I’m not linking I can’t find it. But predicatably White folks lost their collective shit.

Here’s the thing in a nutshell. If you read simply by grabbing books most likely your reading list is real white and real cis white dude heavy.

She’s not saying DESTROY ALL WHITE CISDUDE WRITERS 4EVER OMG BBQETF!!!!1111!!!OH SHIT WHITE MEN IN DANGER.

Ahem.

All she was really saying is try reading outside of the dominant voices in ilterature.

There was also the predictable..OMG I AM SO NOT RACIST I DUNCURR IF RITER IS NOT WHITE OMG HOW DO I EVEN KNOW.

Uh.

Okay that is honestly the Whitest most heterosexual thing ever.

Most people who are the dangerous and mysterious other generally say so pretty up front. As an experiment, I went and read the bios of about four dozen authors of color whom I don’t know personally. About 95% of them stated inside the first two sentences of their bios their ethnicity and for those who are neurodivergent or queer also said that.

Like in LESS THAN A PARAGRAPH.

So I can only really shake my head. It must be so hard to get angry about the idea that someone might challenge your tastes.

I mean, if you look at your bookshelf AND you’re honest especially if one is a lover of genre fiction, it’s gonna be pretty White and CiS dude heavy.

Calm down.

There are literally eleventy forty seven free resources spanning all sort of lit where one can step away from the White guy for a book or two.

Jeebus calm the fuck down.

Now some self promotion. Check it out here, my latest at XOjane and I am particularly proud of this one.

I am also super excited to announce that I have returned to writing about feminism and race. AND I am gettin paid and I pitched the idea to someone I only sort of know.

That is like a trifecta of windom. It means a lot. Details when it is time.

I cannot talk about Leonard Nimoy without sobbing. I’ll post a photo at the bottom.

I have a nerdy craft post about how I feel about writing flash and small fiction and how great it makes me feel that so many of my Yeah, Write cohorts like what I’m putting down.

Um yeah.

So I have a lot of writing to do. I’m on a roll lately and all in my feelings so yeah.

Later taters.

2 thoughts on “Color me Amused

  1. Um excuse me but I have it on very good authority that Tempest is driving around on a very black Harley breaking down doors and running out the door with white people’s Neil Gaiman books. Also, her posing an interesting challenge for people with a great tool for changing your outlook is making MLK roll over in his grave. No seriously a cousin of mine saw it.

Leave a Reply

