Yeah Write entry # 215- I Met A Girl Today

I Met A Girl Today

by

Shannon Barber

I met a girl today.

I met a girl with short hair and crazy eyes.

I was waiting for a bus for no particular reason other than itchy feet and enough money in my pocket for fare and a cup of coffee. I wasn’t paying attention and then there she was, her face turned to mine, her eyes open wide and her lips quivering between a smile and a frown.

“I like you.”

Her words were strong beneath her reedy tone. She sounded like she didn’t talk to many people.

“I like you too.”

We didn’t say anything else for a long time, but she reached for my hand the way a very young child or a very old person might, it was a gesture that didn’t ask for affection but gave it unquestioningly. The bus came and we got on together, we sat like children on a school trip holding hands and smiling at each other.

Everything felt so strange and wonderful. I kept waiting to wake up or find that I was the butt of some joke. The more tense I got, the less likely that seemed to be.

I relaxed, I held her hand tighter and she leaned against me while the bus rocked. She put her lips to my ear and whispered.

“I want to make love to you. For days and days.”

I blushed, I couldn’t help myself. No one talked to me like that ever. I didn’t know what to say and I ducked my head, so embarrassed that I wasn’t sure what to do or say. I swallowed hard, she smiled her huge crazy smile at me, she was patient. She waited until I could speak.

“I- I would like that. I want to make love to you too.”

We giggled. We sat with our heads bent towards each other, whispering inane dirty things and when we couldn’t stand it, we got off of the bus and headed back the way we came.

The bus ride back was excruciating. It was the first time I have ever felt a ball of lusty need sit in my belly and have it be pleasurable. It was awful and beautiful, the ride was too short, and all together too long. I felt decadent, wanton and magnificent. We made it back to where we had started and we stood at that bus stop again for a moment.
It felt like we were marking our territory, as if returning to the spot where we met could somehow cement things.

We didn’t need the symbolism of that return.

All we needed was to be hand in hand again, to be the tender bit of mercy in the hard ugly world.

I took her back to my place and we did make love. We made love for days, for weeks and now for years.

I love her.

She loves me.

We are complete.

I met a girl today.

I met a girl with short hair and crazy eyes.

###

PS..this is very loosely based on a girl I actually knew.

2 thoughts on “Yeah Write entry # 215- I Met A Girl Today

  1. So many sparks here, Shannon. I love the choices you made on what to leave out of the chronology of this relationship. I found it easy to fill in the moments left off the page.

Leave a Reply

