Be That Shit.

First behold my fave meme.

dreams

First panel says: Follow your mothafuckin’ dream.

Second panel says: I don’t give a damn if you wanna be a professional Ninja Turtle.

Last panel says: Be That Shit.

I am all about that Be That Shit Life.

So here’s what’s going on in my pursuit of the above.

First thing, I did a great interview for Litcrawl Seattle. Get it here at Tumblr and please feel free to pass it along. My event is this one:

VIDA Presents: Women of Color Prose Reading
Fred Wildlife Refuge, 128 Belmont Ave. E.
With Shannon Barber (Self Care Like a Boss), Jennine Capo Crucet (Make Your Home Among Strangers, How to Leave Hialeah), and Wendy C. Ortiz (Excavation: A Memoir, Hollywood Notebook).

Um holy shit right? HOLY. FUCKING. SHIT.

I am terribly nervous but I got my outfit sorted and what I’m reading and will just…do that shit. If you are there please know I will probably want to hug you but I will be really sweaty.

Next thing, I am launching my own TinyLetter newsletter. Find that here. Look forward to general writing life stuff, appearances, announcements, maybe the odd wee essay. It’s free and I won’t spam you at all. I am very nervous about doing this and it took a lot of me goading myself into it.

It looks like we have a very few 50% off copies of Self Care Like A Boss. Last I heard there were only six left. So if you want it now, grab it. Look out for the next iteration around New Years.

What else is happening?

I am relearning to make zines and will have some to sell over in my etsy shop by Christmas.

Also to celebrate October I’m gettin Spoopy over there and am re-releasing some spooky fiction and for Halloween (also my anniversary with my partner, Old Goths are Old) some brand new Lovecrafty type stuff. Check out what’s available here.

I almost forgot.

I had a reading a couple of weeks ago and I put up one of the pieces I read on Ink Node. I also have a tiny lil video of me reading from Self Care Like a Boss. After I get some sound tests done, I will be posting more videos of me reading and blogging about stuff. It’s gonna be a thing.

What else?

AH yes in the more angsty region of the Be That Shit Life, I decided I’m going to go ahead and try doing a fundraiser to help get me to AWP. I made a huge long list of pros and cons, discussed it with my partner and yeah, it is important to me to go. I’ll do a whole big post about it later after I get things set up.

Later this week more in my Yeah, Write grand experiment. Should I explain about that some this week?

I dunno.

So yeah, go read the things! Check out the Etsy and you my friend, Be That Shit. Whatever you wanna be.

 

 

Leave a Reply

