What’s Good lit world?

That is delivered only semi in a Nicki type of way.

What’s on my mind right now?

I’m thinking/writing deeply about the best writing advice ever.

“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” ― Toni Morrison

I’ve been taking that approach to short fiction since I was about 22 years old. It has been difficult and at times disheartening.

Most recently as I’ve mentioned, I’ve been writing and reading a lot of genre fiction. I’ve noticed several things.

  1. My tolerance of complete erasure of POC in genre fiction, especially has grown very very thin. I feel like it makes a lot of my research very difficult because it pains me to read eleventy forty seven pages of something where logically POC should be there and we’re just not. It’s tiring. See also magical negroes, certain venerable very famous horror authors who ALWAYS have at least one super racist character or some other super racist shit happens. I want to study the things I’m working on because I do believe in being familiar with a thing before I try to break it but fuck y’all. Shit is hard.
  2. Due to issues related to #1, I am still very hesitant about my ideas for my genre fiction because I don’t see them modeled at all for the most part. Not because I’m the most original person ever, but because the genres I’m reading are not as diverse as they think they are.
  3. The combination of those two first things, makes me a bit tired.
  4. I hate being aware of these things, of having a historical knowledge of them (these are things I’ve been concerned with since I wrote my first horror story in 1993) and though things are a little easier now (YAY MOTHA FUCKIN GOOGLE) it’s still a thing.

All that said, I’m writing the shit anyway.

Currently I’m working up a story about little Black witchy children. Babies with long bloodlines rooted in hoodoo or maybe just unnamed work, with witchy parents who watch their precious babies develop not knowing what they might be. But knowing that they have to be it together.

I’m also toying with screwing with the zombie trope. It involves the banshee mythos, a kid on the autism spectrum and a mom who’s had enough.

What else is in the fryer?

I’m thinking of non fiction (I started a new piece the other day) about what the concept of fuck you money and wealth actually means to me. I did some digging in my heart and brain and came up with a few better more truthful answers.

Also I’ve got book stuff coming up that I’ll talk about another time.

That’s it for the moment. Tomorrow we’ll go back to The World and later this week I’ll do a little bit of a review of Ken Liu’s novel The Grace of Kings.

Leave a Reply

