Yeah Write #266- Beautiful Pit Vipers

Beautiful Pit Vipers

Through the blood of my Mother I am Thai. I have her round moon face and nasty disposition. My Father gave me his dark brown skin and gap toothed smile. I wish I was sweet like him, back home, he always greeted every other Black man he saw with arms wide open, a big smile and a “hey brotha, how you doin?”

Everybody loved my Daddy. Even them boys, the ones who hung out drinking tall boys all day. When something good happened to them, my Daddy was the first person they told.

My Mama on the other hand. Most everyone in our neighborhood gave her a wide berth. Daddy always said we were his jungle vipers. His brown spotted green pit vipers, nocturnal and deadly. He never knew about The World, even when it came for him. He only knew that my Mama taught me to fight the way she learned to fight.

Mama taught me the same Muay Thai she learned. Hours outside kicking saplings, Mama with me at the gym barking at me,

“Elbow, like axe! BOOM! CHOP! KNEE KNEE KNEE!”

At home, she would wait until Daddy left for work or just elsewhere, and we would sit together in our training area in the basement. We sat cross legged on the cold floor, knees to knees, eyes to eyes. She taught me the ways and hows of The World. She hypnotized me with her low voice.

“We do not give quarter. We are made for bringing death. We will protect the Innocent, like your Daddy. Okay?”

I always said yes ma’am. Or screamed wild as any beautiful pit viper should, “YES MAMA!”

Now I’m alone.

I’m sitting in the basement of my parents house with their ashes cradled in my arms and tears streaming down my face.

The World took them.

For that there is no forgiveness, I will take no quarter.

The World will learn.

I get my shit together and stop crying over their ashes. I get the house closed up tight, mirrors covered, furniture sent to neighbors and friends. I get my weapons and head out into the night to find a Door and walk out of the world until The World bleeds, as I shed tears.

The world will forget us. The World will wish it could.

###

4 thoughts on “Yeah Write #266- Beautiful Pit Vipers

  1. You write characters so well. I love how powerful they are, resilient, defiant, pit vipers. This, especially, says everything: “I always said yes ma’am. Or screamed wild as any beautiful pit viper should, ‘YES MAMA!’”

  2. What I liked about this was though it did not give me much in the way of physical details of the world, its energy was so thick I could see it. The main character’s voice is very strong and though she is fierce, her love for her parents and her pain come through. This packs punch and also leaves a bruise.

Leave a Reply

