A Weird Lil Thing

I’m finally heading out of the holy fuckballs I am so sick I want to die.

I’m back on the grind, writing fiction and poetry and shit.

Tis the season for me feeling some type of way about too many lit world things that aren’t the outright usual fuckery of the lit world but enough to hurt my lil feelings. The events I can’t go to, the residencies I can’t even afford to apply to, etc etc.

I’m trying to tuck those feelings away so I can work but, I realized recently that I have to let myself go through it otherwise it festers and I wind up creatively and physically constipated and I can’t work that way.

I struggle with a lot of feelings and as I’ve said before, it is part of my process.

That said, the struggle always ends with me, figuring some shit out.

So here’s what this round has brought.

I felt like I was regressing a bit. I’ve set myself a goal of continuing to write whatever the fuck I want to write and accepting that my profits are prolly not gonna happen. I’ve been wrestling with it and frankly, it is just not worth the stress.

That said.

I want my Patreon to flourish so, I have some expansion plans. I’ll talk more about that next month. Now, I may still make my expansions a separate thing. Stay tuned for some Be That Shit University news.

I’m actually going to be talking about this a lot more in my next tiny letter. Y’all should sign up. I’m pretty awesome and shit.

Basically, I’m tryin to lay the groundwork that will enable me to do more in the lit world that I wanna do without the financial stress BUT also not freak out about said hustles.

There is one other thing I want to explore, a little coaching but I’m still researching it and trying to figure out how I could invest the time.

The big change I’m experiencing is that I am aware of and understand what skills I just don’t have/have difficulty learning and am accepting it.

So if I’m gonna be side hustling, it is going to be doing shit I love not shit I feel like I have to do.

So that’s where I’m at y’all.

Now probably next week I’m going to do some major nerding about some books and writers I love so come back for that.

AND lastly, If you have some money and need to learn to write the other. Please go take this class. The Writing The Other by Nisi Shawl and K. Tempest Bradford. Y’all. If you are not a marginalized person, please take this class. These folks are experts.

Leave a Reply

